San Francisco. Land of Freedom.

A couple minutes ago I decided to put my thoughts together by reading a post written by a blogger from Belarus before writing my own. But in 30 seconds I stopped. I’m different already and I don’t want to go back even to face the reality of the post-Soviet generation.
I feel I need to explain how this post about San Francisco can possibly be connected with someone’s post from Belarus. The girl was writing about trip with her fiancé to National Park Belovezhskaya Pushcha. And one of the first things they saw in front of the entrance was a little spot where you could get deer skin. Yes, I am not kidding right now, DEER SKIN in front of a NATIONAL PARK, and yes they got it. I want to say Ukraine is different, and I will. But 23 years ago we were one big mess called the Soviet Union. Of course I got really upset, but somehow I finally found the words to describe our amazing trip to San Francisco.
I guess now I will try to increase the level of tourism in San Francisco showing you pictures from our amazing vacation. I will divide them in two, because the first part we spent in the city and second one we went to beautiful wineries around. So here we go.
I was dreaming about the USA from my very early childhood. I was reading Disney books, was watching cartoons and movies, and was always thought I should have been born here. I admire this country and everything about it, especially people’s rights and freedoms. I guess my life would be miserable and would lose sense if I had not moved here. I wasn’t wrong. But something was still incomplete. I couldn’t understand what exactly until this trip.
San Francisco is definitely a city of contrasts. If I ever used this word before describing other places I would like to take it back. I never ever in my life saw a bigger difference of everything there: people, cultures, architects, shine and dirt, wealth and poverty… at the same spot. Being honest I am still a little bit in shock.
There are a gorgeous city hall and opera house, where across the street homeless people are getting ready for “bed”. Actually coming back after ballet we decide to have some wine with dinner, it was a bit after 10 pm and guess what happened? Yep, almost everything around was closed, including CVS. Burger King was open, thank God 🙂

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Castro, the gay neighborhood impressed me a lot as well. I have a couple gay friends and I’ve been before to a gay club, and other neighborhoods, but this one changed something in me. I felt like I was a welcome guest in their own big world, which they built years ago. It was the first time in my life that I, being always straight, FELT ABSOLUTE FREEDOM in San Francisco’s gay neighborhood. This is a paradox, but I wanted to yell about it everywhere.

Image

Image

Later with my husband we discussed and shared different thoughts walking in Golden Gate Park.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

And Golden Gate Bridge. It is phenomenal, huge, great, magnificent… a kind of tough paradise. Absolutely lovely views from every single spot and corner.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Once we wanted to be local and just decided to jump out from the bus somewhere, to walk around, find out nice restaurant and have perfect lunch there. LOL! LOL! LOL! We did only first two parts of our plan and then we, starving, were looking for hours for an open place to eat something. Actually we found it at the end. But don’t repeat our mistake. There are not too many places in family neighborhoods and mostly they are closed till 4 pm.

Image

Image

Later that day we went to Fisherman’s Wharf. For some reason it reminded me of my vacations in Europe. Such a cozy place: beautiful embankment with flowers everywhere, ocean, seagulls with their own conversations, smiling people, street artists, hundreds of restaurants and cafe for every taste…

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sea lions are a different story. First time I saw so many of them and they are so loud.

Image

 

Image

I wanted to stay longer.

 

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

I fall in love with this city. It is wonderful. There are so many things which give you some new fresh air, that makes you want to come back and I’m sure we will, many times.
P.S. Now my picture about the USA is definitely complete.

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

